The sign is humility

Pope_Francis_Humility_Meme

If there ever was a sign of someone following Jesus with humility, it would be someone who did so in prayer.

Praying for our country, for being a people who recognize God’s favour and being glad to do God’s will. We pray for our leadership at whatever level they may be and for justice and peace in our own homes.  Through such answered prayers, and in obedience to following God that those around us, aware of our actions, may see what God looks like.  We continue to pray that our hearts will be thankful in prosperity and that in the day of trouble, our trust will not fail.

We pray that humble and contrite hearts would be pleasing to God, and we do so by remembering every day to ask Him to wash away and cleanse us from our sin.

Most merciful God,
I confess that I have sinned against you
in thought, word, and deed,
by what I have done,
and by what I have left undone.
I have not loved you with my whole heart;
I have not loved my neighbours as myself.
I am truly sorry and I humbly repent.
For the sake of your Son Jesus Christ,
have mercy on me and forgive me;
that I may delight in your will,
and walk in your ways,
to the glory of your Name. Amen.

Mercy is on our lips, asking for forgiveness, strength, goodness and the power of the Holy Spirit who keep us in eternal life.

Not forgetting, we pray for the comfort and assistance for those who are in trouble, grieving, need, sickness or have run across adversity.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

